June 19, 1997


Personnel action attached. Administrative changes as follows:

Supervisor of Elementary Curriculum - Mrs. Jeanne Payne

Principal, Eastwood Elementary - Mrs. Pat Mathis

Principal, Frances Nungester Elementary - Mr. Tommy Whitiow

Principal, West Decatur Elementary - Mrs. Yvette Evans

HASP and Partners-in-Education Coordinator - Mrs. Darlene Leach

Grants and Special Projects Coordinator - Mrs. Tommie Jo Voss


The Board:

Accepted the retirement of Mr. Robert Donham, Supervisor of Vocational Education, effective June 30,1997, and commended him for his dedicated and efficient years of service-total of 40, 15 In Decatur.

Approved the addition of fire safety curriculum for K-3 as part of a grant received by the Decatur Fire and Rescue Department.

Authorized expansion of DARE Program In high schools.

Approved a pilot program for fifth grade entitled "Adopt-a-Classroom" sponsored by Ducks Unlimited.

Approved bids for air conditioning system for Special Services Center and for painting supplies for various projects.

Authorized continuation of membership in Alabama Association of School Boards. Increased out-of-district tuition to $500 per year.

Authorized the use of a consultant to assist in securing Court approval for the new elementary school construction.

Approved a Learn and Serve Grant.

Reviewed various highlights and accomplishments for the 1996-97 school year. Board President Fowler expressed appreciation on behalf of the Board for the efforts of the schools and administrative staff.

Announced an Austin High School Foundation program to be implemented by the Austin Alumni Association.

Congratulated Mrs. Jill Eaton upon being elected president-elect of the National Association of Elementary School Principals. This is the first Decatur system employee (or Alabama representative) to serve as a national officer In any professional association.